Contact Us

Please fill out the form below and our attorney will contact you.

!
!
!

Our Location

Martindale Awards

AV Preeminent®: The highest peer rating standard. This rating signifies that a large number of the lawyer’s peers rank him or her at the highest level of professional excellence for their legal knowledge, communication skills and ethical standards.

Martindale Ratings

Average Peer Rating

4.7/5.0

Average Client Rating

Reviews (126)

Site Rating Reviews by date
5.0 / 5.0
2014-02-17 15:21:25

No description provided

— Peer 02/17/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-02-17 13:07:29

No description provided

— Peer 02/17/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-02-16 08:14:11

I have known John Thygerson for many years and he has always been a warm, honest and hardworking individual. Importantly, Atty. Thygerson also has a great legal mind, which I've experienced first-hand while sitting in on several of his many trials. I have also witnessed John in court and have always been impressed with the way he handles the Judge, prosecutor and his clients. I am honored to have been asked by Martindale-Hubbell to provide an endorsement for John P. Thygerson.

— Peer 02/16/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-02-11 22:30:32

No description provided

— Peer 02/11/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-02-11 22:28:25

No description provided

— Peer 02/11/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-02-11 22:27:24

No description provided

— Peer 02/11/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-02-11 22:26:42

Knowledgeable & capable.

— Peer 02/11/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-02-11 22:25:13

John is an excellent advocate possessing the highest moral and ethical values.

— Peer 02/11/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-02-11 12:50:06

I have know John Thygerson in a professional capacity for 14 years and he is an outstanding lawyer who always comports himself to the highest ethical standards.

— Peer 02/11/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-02-11 11:10:44

No description provided

— Peer 02/11/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-02-11 11:10:07

I have known John for more than 15 years in the practice and he has always maintained the highest levels of professionalism and courtesy.

— Peer 02/11/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-02-08 13:28:15

No description provided

— Peer 02/08/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-02-05 10:50:37

John is generous with his time, quick to help other attorneys who need guidance. Hardworking; keeps his promises.

— Peer 02/05/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-02-03 11:09:27

Have know John for years, witnessed him many times in court, and discussed numerous cases with him. Always knowledgeable of the law and facts, articulate, persuasive, and a zealous advocate. Tremendous track record of success. Despite a busy practice, always took the time to mentor younger lawyers. I give John the highest ratings possible.

— Peer 02/03/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-02-03 11:03:11

I have known John for years. Consummate professional. Complete knowledge of substantive and procedural law, zealous advocate for his clients, as well as honest, reliable, with a tremendous track record of success.

— Peer 02/03/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-02-01 13:09:57

John is a terrific, top-notch criminal defense attorney practicing in the Norwalk, Connecticut area, but whom I have seen practice in courts throughout Connecticut. He is a talented, smart, and assertive lawyer who knows what needs to be done for his clients and will fight very hard to achieve a successful result.

— Peer 02/01/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-01-31 17:00:50

No description provided

— Peer 01/31/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-01-31 09:58:31

No description provided

— Peer 01/31/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-01-31 09:49:17

John is a great resource for me, as a large firm attorney, to refer matters we cannot handle. John has a successful track record in both court and settlements. I recommend John to my best clients and would use him myself.

— Peer 01/31/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-01-31 09:45:53

I recommend my best client's to John to handle criminal or other related issues, small or large. John had phenomenal connections and has a great record of successes in court and in settlements. If I had an issue, I would go to John.

— Peer 01/31/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-01-31 09:12:17

I refer clients to John for criminal cases. All of my referrals have been pleased with his services. John is polite, capable, and accessible.

— Peer 01/31/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-01-31 07:29:12

No description provided

— Peer 01/31/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-01-31 06:21:14

An extremely competent and effective criminal defense attorney that I have had the pleasure of observing over the years.

— Peer 01/31/2014

4.8 / 5.0
2014-02-08 08:56:39

No description provided

— Peer 02/08/2014

4.4 / 5.0
2014-02-10 07:39:12

No description provided

— Peer 02/10/2014

4.4 / 5.0
2014-02-08 10:51:26

highly recommend

— Peer 02/08/2014

4.4 / 5.0
2014-02-06 15:59:33

No description provided

— Peer 02/06/2014

4.0 / 5.0
2014-02-10 17:01:57

John Thygerson enjoys a very favorable local reputation among fellow criminal practitioner and the staff at the various court houses.

— Peer 02/10/2014

4.0 / 5.0
2014-01-31 16:35:29

No description provided

— Peer 01/31/2014

4.0 / 5.0
2014-01-31 11:58:16

No description provided

— Peer 01/31/2014

3.4 / 5.0
2014-01-31 09:04:18

No description provided

— Peer 01/31/2014

3.0 / 5.0
2014-02-09 16:43:12

No description provided

— Peer 02/09/2014

3.0 / 5.0
2014-01-31 09:05:23

No description provided

— Peer 01/31/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2011-09-28

There are plenty of attorneys but very few of them go into Court with the passion John has when he advocates his client's interest. If your freedom is on the line, there is no other attorney in the State of Connecticut that i would have represent me. He is not afraid to butt heads with any Judge, when he believes he is right. When you use John, you won't leave the Court house wondering 'did we do all that we could?'

— Client 09/28/2011

5.0 / 5.0
2011-09-29

I have found myself, from time to time, getting in trouble requiring appearing in court. Each time I turned to John who, without fail, obtained the results I desired in a most professional and, importantly, efficient manner. I could not have been more pleased with the results and have referred him to friends who have also had the same experience. I recommend his services without reservation.

— Client 09/29/2011

5.0 / 5.0
2011-09-30

Super knowledgeable. Straight forward . He helped out my aging parents with some trust issues, great experience, recommend him highly.

— Client 09/30/2011

5.0 / 5.0
2011-10-01

Personal attention, returned phone calls, attention to detail; these are the hallmarks of his representation. He realizes that criminal court can be extremely intimidating and daunting and ensures that the entire process is as smooth and anxiety free as possible. Having him as my advocate made the entire process more bearable and I could not be more happy with the results obtained,

— Client 10/01/2011

5.0 / 5.0
2011-10-05

John is my go to guy whenever I, or any friend, is in trouble in Fairfield County. On more than one occasion he has represented me in criminal court and has always done so with skill, grace and passion. Always returns phone calls ( which is a rarity in the legal profession) and will do whatever he can to obtain the result necessary. I have been so pleased with his work, that I have referred family members and employees to him, and have had nothing but positive feedback. In my opinion, he is the guy to call if you are in trouble with the law.

— Client 10/05/2011

5.0 / 5.0
2011-10-25

John has worked for me on several difficult cases. His results have always been outstanding and in my favor. His understanding of the law, the system and the players in the system set him above all else. I can truly say that not only do I consider John a great lawyer but also a great friend who will go above and beyond for you. I would not hesitate to use him or recommend him for any legal matter. In fact I do all the time.

— Client 10/25/2011

5.0 / 5.0
2012-10-26

John Thygerson without a doubt is one of the most composed professionals I have ever had the pleasure of working with. John is very thorough, he is always there for you whenever you need him and quite frankly I would highly recommend him as an attorney to anyone that has any needs for excellent representation. He has always been a very special friend to me and a mentor to say the least. John doesn't specialize in just one area of the law but all areas.

— Client 10/26/2012

5.0 / 5.0
2012-10-26

I have known John since Law School. John represented my in a criminal matter where the local police were overly aggressive in seeking charges. John was able to have the charges dismissed and my record cleared, including a successful appeal with a state agency.

— Client 10/26/2012

5.0 / 5.0
2012-11-10

John has helped me out on more than one occassion. Each time the quality of service he provided surpassed my expectations. In one case, I was almost certain that jail was the only outcome I was facing, but John's determination and creative lawyering resulted in a disposition that involved payment of a fine only!! I recommend him without any reservation whatsoever. An awesome lawyer and someone who I will always turn to in the future

— Client 11/10/2012

5.0 / 5.0
2012-11-18

John represented me a few years back after I was charged with a dwi. His help in guiding me through the whole process, which is unnerving to say the least, was very thourough. He was discreet, informative and promptly returned phone calls, which always seems to be a problem with other lawyers I have used in the past. Also, he successfully kept the DMV from suspending my license which I understand does not happen all to often. A genuinely good guy and I am pleased with the referral I was given to him

— Client 11/18/2012

5.0 / 5.0
2012-11-27

I hired Mr. Thygerson to represent me in a case after I was arrested for DWI and giving a false statement. Prosecutors wanted jail. I wasn't drunk, but nobody believed me and cops claim I failed road side tests and didn't blow into machine hard enough. Mr Thygerson took my case after my first attorney had a conflict. Mr. Thygerson destroyed cops on the stand, showed they didn't follow proper procedure and proved breath machine wasn't working right. Brutally cross examined chief of police down to arresting officer! Jury declared me not guilty after 2 hours of deliberating. He was a master of the court and dind't back down to anyone. I am so glad he was there for me!

— Client 11/27/2012

5.0 / 5.0
2012-11-30

Given that the legal system can at times be intimidating and shrouded in legalize (an understatement) it was important that I be made comfortable with the process. John's ability to demystify the challenges associated with my case were crucial to my understanding of the legal process and the role he played. I attributed the outcome of the case to his legal experience, strength of character and personal integrity. At no time during the process did I ever feel he was not being completely honest and forthright. In the end everything worked out fine.

— Client 11/30/2012

5.0 / 5.0
2012-12-27

I first hired Attorney Thygerson to represent an employee of mine who was in serious trouble. Honestly, my employee and I thought that jail was going to be the only outcome. But John managed to not only keep my guy out of jail but more importantly kept him from having any record at all. Since then he has been the attorney of choice for all of my employees and always busts his butt to get the best possible result. Never had a bad experience with him.

— Client 12/27/2012

5.0 / 5.0
2013-01-13

Mr. Thygerson is one of the most knowledgable and competent lawyers providing professional legal services in the areas of criminal and civil litigation in the State of Connecticut and beyond. He is also very responsive to his clients' needs and and straightforward in his approach and conduct of business. John Thygerson was successful in defending our son and in proving his innocence in a misdemeanor case involving DUI. Our whole family is very grateful to him.

— Client 01/13/2013

4.0 / 5.0
2013-01-17

John has been great and continues to support and guide me through an extremely painful period in my life. He has fought hard for me and is dedicated to continuing to do so until the end. He is respectful, smart, kind, generous and gives 100%

— Client 01/17/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-03-09

Attorny Thygerson has represented me in two cases. Both were serious felonies. I was quite scared about going to jail (I was stupid in doing what I did). Each time John took the time to listen to me (and he read me the riot act after the second arrest) and he came up with a game plan that left me with no record! The entire time he was patient with me and took the time to work with me so that I not only have no criminal record but, because of the counselling he got me to take, I believe I won't be making the mistakes that led to my arrests. I have also refered him to my friends and he has gotten them amazing results to. He really is an all around good guy who cares for his clients.

— Client 03/09/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-05-16

After being arrested for suspicion of a DUI and facing months in prison and a felony on my record I turned to John Thygerson and from the moment we first spoke on the phone to the moment all charges were dismissed John was a consummate professional. He understands the anxiety and confusion situations like this can create and does everything in his power to both achieve the best results and make the entire process as frictionless as possible. I recommend John P. Thygerson without hesitation.

— Client 05/16/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-08-29

John represented me on multiple occasions over the years. Each time John delivered the results I hoped for. In fact, whenever anyone in my family gets in trouble, he is the only one we turn to for advice and help. He has never let us down. He fights hard, and takes the time to maximize results. I would refer him to anyone in trouble with the law. He can be a pit bull when called for and compassionate as well. He was extremely patient representing my grandfather in a case where the charges were ultimately dropped and my grandfather can be a real pain in the ***. John kept his cool and got the job done. He is simply the best.

— Client 08/29/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-09-23

Within the first 5 minutes I knew Mr.Thygerson would represent me. His presense is commanding and his knowledge was so impressive I didn't have to meet any other attorney. Throughout the whole process he took charge and kept me well informed. Very detailed and knows the system extremely well. The judge and prosecutor knew him well and there was no doubt a respect for Mr. Thygerson. He will go the extra mile when he has to. I would use My Thygerson over and over again. You won't be disappointed.

— Client 09/23/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-10-04

I hired John to represent me after my first attorney was getting nowhere with the prosecutors in convincing them of my innocence. I got the impression that the attorney I first hired did not have a good relationship with the prosecutors, even though he swore to me he did. After hiring John, there was an immediate change in the attitude of the prosecutors and it appeared as though real progress was being made in my case. John was patient and he took the time to interview witnesses which was crucial to my case. The end result: the charges were dropped!!! He did a great job explaining everything to me and always took the time to talk to me, unlike my first lawyer who just wanted me to use a program to get rid of my case and acted as if I was an imposition to him when I questioned his strategy. I will always refer Mr. Thygerson to anyone who needs an attorney in criminal court!

— Client 10/04/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-10-16

John came to me via referral from other attorneys. He represented me with regard to tickets related to a traffic accident with a police officer. John was very up-front on what to expect from the magistrate hearing and trial de novo. When it came time to present during the trial de novo, John was prepared and very experienced in the courtroom with the judge. In the end, we obtained a successful verdict. I would recommend John without hesitation to a friend.

— Client 10/16/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-12-02

John was a reliable resource for our family. He made himself available at all times. He has a multitude of knowledge and uses it to guide you to a smooth resolution. If I needed an attorney, I would call John Thygerson. He understands what you are going through and will be there for you.

— Client 12/02/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-12-04

This lawyer was very informative and quick with regards to taking legal action with the case. He changed the court date that worked best for the both of us and told me what exactly I need to bring on the date. Showed up in court for me and nailed a homerun. I was facing a very difficult reckless driving ticket with speeds in the triple digits. I was very nervous and scared but with his knowledge and approach he had no issues getting that taken care of for me. Case well done recommend to anyone facing some serious stuff.

— Client 12/04/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-12-26

I had a 20 year old warrant that I didn't know about and mr. thygerson took the case resolved it with no penalties' to myself clear me from the court had the charges dropped thank you for everything I will hire mr thygerson again.

— Client 12/26/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2014-05-02

Mr. Thygerson was exceptionally helpful in regards to my court case. I was nervous as I've never been to court. He eased my nerves by answering my numerous questions. He was available 24 hours a day for me as well! And importantly he was kind towards me and didn't belittle me or my case. He was very respectful towards me as well. I have alot of respect for this hard-working man. Overall Mr. Thygerson was extremely generous with his time. I'm grateful for his help. A good man!! It would be a mistake not to hire Mr. Thygerson, he will undoubtedly work hard for you! ISA L

— Client 05/02/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-07-19

Mr. Thygerson is well respected and known in the community and court system. He is a excellent attorney who has a lot of fight in him, I have seen prosecutors smashed by his ability to defend me in court and would highly recommend him.

— Client 07/19/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-07-23

Due to a domestic incident with my ex-girlfriend who came to my house and caused trouble, I was also arrested and charged with two offences, including breach of the peace. I felt that these were completely unfair and I consulted with Mr Thygerson after reading his outstanding reviews. I can only concur with those ,as he immediately allayed my concerns. After giving him full details, the charges were dropped at my next hearing. Enormous relief and I have no hesitation in recommending him.

— Client 07/23/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-08-17

John did an amazing job of calming my fears after an accident and the threat of DUI arrest. He educated me on what the process would be and I could see he was very well versed in DUI defense. John worked with the police and was able to get the case dropped without arrest. I would highly recommend John's attorney services.

— Client 08/17/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-10-09

I was facing a mandatory 30 days for a motor vehicle infraction. Mandatory usually mean mandatory but John Thygerson used some legal strategies that saved me from what I thought was inevitable sentence. I can't say enough about what he did for me and wouldn't hesitate to use him again. He truly goes to bat for you.

— Client 10/09/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2015-02-06

Attorney Thygerson has represented several of my family members for various charges ranging from motor vehicle infractions to behavioral misdemeanors. In each case John was quick to respond, effective and considerate. He would clearly explain the ramifications of a given situation and advise on the best strategy with which to proceed. Attorney Thygerson is highly respected by the officers of the court and has an uncanny ability to asses the likelihood of what court officers might expect and would formulate a response that was eventually embraced by the prosecution and the court. John did not, however, capitulate to unreasonable prosecutorial demands when he believed they were overreaching, or simply wrong in their assessment of the situation. John continues to represent members of my family and if necessary will represent them in the future. I have, and would, highly recommend attorney Thygerson to anyone who needs expert and effective legal representation.

— Client 02/06/2015

5.0 / 5.0
2015-02-19

Most of us do not expect to ever need the services of a criminal defense attorney, so when that need arises, most of us don’t know where to turn. John Thygerson was recommended to me by another attorney. I recommend him to you. Here’s why: Unlike most legal issues most of us confront, the criminal justice system does not even pretend to be a level playing field. The government has infinite resources. You do not. The stakes are enormous for you, but just another day at work for the prosecutor. The odds against you are huge--whether you are guilty or not. You are the least capable person in the (court) room. Put bluntly, you can’t afford the defense you would like to have. John Thygerson defended me for a flat fee. He probably did not anticipate the State would delay my “speedy trial” for 5 ½ years, or that I would reject every “plea bargain” offered. He prepared my defense. He filed motions. He calmed down my wife. He came to court, prepared to defend me, over and over and over again, only to have the State request adjournments, over and over again. Ultimately, the case was dismissed because the State decided it could not win, no matter how long it delayed. John Thygerson was able to level the playing field for me. You want a criminal defense attorney who can level the playing field for you at a cost you can afford. It’s not “cheap” -- but when it comes to your freedom, the last thing you want is a “cheap” defense. I recommend John Thygerson without reservation.

— Client 02/19/2015

5.0 / 5.0
2015-03-18

When I was arrested I felt completely alone and scared. Luckily, I found John Thygerson while searching online for a reputable DUI attorney. I have unfortunately been in trouble more than once in the past and have learned what can happen by choosing to not hire an attorney. If you are incapable of financially providing yourself with decent representation, you can suffer for even the most minor of offenses. It is a risk hiring someone you often do not know to fight on your behalf, and paying the most expensive attorney cannot always assure fair treatment or the best possible outcome. I presented John Thygerson with a handful of issues. I was a single mother without the support of family or friends, I had an open case in another state, and I was at risk of violating my probation to name just a few. Right from the start he was upfront with me about all the possibilities of my case without ever making me feel judged. Whenever we went to court, he always addressed any concerns I had and prepared me for what would happen that day. He was always early so that we got in and out as quickly as possible. In end I was facing a jail sentence for my violation of probation and a felony charge for not carrying my own prescriptions in their proper container. Mr. Thygerson did not agree that the punishment I was facing even with my prior history was fit; and truly looked at my situation for who I was as a real person present day. Over the course of this past year there were many times that I walked away thinking about just how LUCKY I was to have someone that genuinely cared about how my situation turned out. My attorney canceled his personal plans at one point just to drive all the way back to the courthouse the next day, and do whatever he could so I may be given a fair chance. In the court system you only as good as the mistakes listed under your name, pulled from the stack of other peoples problems and read out to the judge for everyone to hear. Mr. Thygerson took on my case from a very personal level and I never doubted for a moment that he would not do anything he could to help me. His knowledge and professionalism helped spare me of any jail time or a felony on my record. I am thankful for all of his hard work and for helping to make this tough time as painless as possible. Your attorney is not hired to be your friend and I am not saying he treated me as such, but he most definitely connected with me in a way that left me feeling so grateful for having him there to represent me.

— Client 03/18/2015

5.0 / 5.0
2015-03-24

John helped me through a recent DUI - I could not have asked for a better attorney. John was extremely responsive, professional, and knowledgeable from start to finish. I was impressed with how easily John could explain my options and provide advice on the situation based on his extensive experience. John made a negative situation as easy as possible and provided great counsel to me throughout the process. I highly recommend Mr. Thygerson as an attorney.

— Client 03/24/2015

5.0 / 5.0
2015-05-16

I have had experience with several lawyers while addressing normal legal issues as well as a pair of misdemeanors and found Mr. Thygerson to be the best lawyer I had ever hired. This time I found myself in serious trouble and I am thrilled with the resolution of my case as had it not been for Mr. Thygerson help it might had ended differently, even after four years which is the time it too for my case to be settled. During this entire time I always felt this was not just my case, but "our" case and that Mr. Thygerson was genuinely concerned with my situation and totally vested in the case as not only did he counsel me regarding our best course of action, but he also suggested things I could do to help "our" case, which I followed to the T. While Mr. Thygerson kept me aware of the potential worst case outcome there was never a doubt in my mind he was trying for the best case scenario and the result was nothing short than the best possible scenario he was able to work out even after I made it more difficult for us at the start of the case. Dealing with court proceedings is stressful and scary and you feel everyone is against you, it is in such situation when the last person you need to feel that does not have your back, is your lawyer. By is actions John Thygerson will make you feel he is on your side and that has your back and will work hard to get the best outcome for your case.

— Client 05/16/2015

5.0 / 5.0
2015-12-06

I was charged with felony insurance fraud based upon ridiculous misperceptions by an insurance company. I was referred to John by another attorney and could not have been happier with the results. He immediately put me at ease and quickly developed a game plan towards proving my innocence. He was always available by cell to answer my questions and address my concerns. After a number of court appearances and a meeting with the prosecutor and the judge the charges were ultimately dropped! I have his cell number programmed into my phone and would recommend him in a heartbeat.

— Client 12/06/2015

5.0 / 5.0
2015-12-11

I was arrested for a DWI following a serious car accident. My first lawyer kept getting the case continued and kept telling me not to worry that "these things take time". After 6 or 7 months of going back and forth to court my lawyer suddenly tells me the prosecutor added a felony charge because a person in the other car was injured. Whats worse is my lawyer tells me that the prosecutor also wants me to go to jail and the judge agrees with him!! I freaked out and began looking for another lawyer since I really didn't feel like my first lawyer had his head in the game. I contacted John Thygerson for a consultation. We met and I immediately felt comfortable with him. He told me he doesn't like replacing lawyers and that I should really consider what I wanted to do. I told him that I wanted him to represent me and I wasn't going to take no for an answer. Best decision I made. John immediately went to work on my case. Kept me informed all the way. And, most importantly, KEPT ME OUT OF JAIL!! I understand that I screwed up but John made me feel at ease and was always available to answer all of my questions. Hopefully I will never need a criminal defense lawyer again but if I do John is my guy.

— Client 12/11/2015

5.0 / 5.0
2016-03-09

From the moment I hired Mr. Thygerson, I was impressed. He handled my case with a high level of efficiency and dedication. Mr Thygerson stayed true to his word and told me if I completed all classes and community service he and the courts required of me to, i would be able to put this past me and move on with my life. Well after completing the states minimum requirements, Mr Thygerson was able to keep my criminal record clean and helped me and my family through the entire process and today I finally am able to move on with my life. Not only did he help me in my court proceeding but I am better off today because of the choices I was advised to make. If given the chance, I would refer Mr Thugerson one hundred times over and would advise anyone with legal troubles to inquire to him and his practice. Thank You John!

— Client 03/09/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2016-03-27

I am no stranger to the court system and have had my share of lawyers represent me. John is probably the harderst working one I ever had represent me. When we first met, he told me what his retainer was and assured me that no matter what it woud not become more expensive unless I wanted a trial. Unfortunately for him I kinda screwed up a few times during the course of the case and he had to go to bat for me with the judge and the prosecuter more times than he thought when we first met. But, he never complained about the extra work he had to do for me and was really forceful with the judge when the judge wanted to raise my bond. The time it took to resolve my case was way longer than he thought it would be but that was because I screwed up. During the entire case he was a gentleman and professional and when I offered him more money he told me a deal is a deal and he is a big boy and all that he asks from me is that I refer future clients to him that need an attorney in the criminal courts. I can assure you that he is THE ONLY GUY that I will refer people to and I couldn't be happier or more grateful for the work he did for me.

— Client 03/27/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2016-04-07

I consulted with John over the phone regarding an unfair civil demand. He told me not to worry that it was a scare tactic, as I previously hoped would be the case. In just two minutes, I, a complete stranger, was taken care of and protected by this man. Thank you John.

— Client 04/07/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2016-04-28

Attorney Thygerson was highly professional, effective and efficient in my first offense DUI case. I had 4 counts against me including DUI. He showed interest and understanding and advised me well of the alcohol education program in CT which I followed. In the end my record was cleared. He knows the courts, the DMV and the system well. I selected Atty. Thygerson based on his excellent ratings, real glad I did.

— Client 04/28/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2016-05-25

I have been arrested 3 times over the years for DWI. Luckily, I had John's cell number when I got my most recent arrest. Not sure what to do at the police station John promptly answered my call (in the middle of the night) and took charge of the situation. Told me exactly what I could and couldn't do and spoke to the officers for me. Since this was my 3rd arrest the prosecutors were demanding jail time and this would be a felony on my record.. Because of the advice he gave me I did not take the breath test. Ultimately, I decided to take the case to trial and paid John to do everything in hiss power to keep me out of jail. Net result: NO JAIL, NO FELONY!!! I'm not sure exactly what he did or how he did it but right before jury selection the prosecutor offered me the chance to plead as a first timer thereby avoiding any jail and no felony. Apparently, there were some issues that John discovered regarding how the field tests were conducyted and something about Miranda issues. Honestly, I could care less how he did it and am eternally grateful that he was there for me every step of the way! I recommend him to anyone looking fan a fighter to be in their corner!

— Client 05/25/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2016-06-28

I was arrested for DWI following a car accident. I met with a couple of lawyers who had been referred to me by friends of my parents. They answered most of my questions but indicated that my license would be automaticcaly suspended because of the arrest and I would have to install a device in my car so I could drive. Both of the attorneys told me that there was no way around this. I was extremely disappointed. I was then recommended to Mr. Thygerson. he could tell I was upset and agreed to meet with me on a Saturday to discuss my case. It was at this meeting that I learned that the suspension of my license was not automatic and that I could have a hearing to fight the suspension. As Mr. Thygerson asked me more detailed questions about the arrest and what happened at the Westport Police department, he started to develop a strategy to fight the suspension. The other attorneys apparently didn't realize you could or should have a hearing. Mr. Thygerson's knowledge and demeanor was extremely reassuring. So I hired him. He requested a hearing at the DMV, prepared me to testify at the hearing and we WON!!. My license did not get suspended and I do not have to suffer the embarassment of having a breath device in my car. I am extremely grateful for his help and guidance as he also convinced the judge to grant my application for the education program even though the prosecutor objected. He knew exactly what to say and his courtroom style was commanding and eloquent. would recommend him to anyone in need of a great DWI lawyer in a heartbeat.

— Client 06/28/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2016-07-08

During a difficult time that I was being put through I turned of Attorney Thygerson. Due to Attorney Thygerson's swift and thorough action the issue was resolved immedicately. Attorney Thygerson was there for me and I'm truly grateful for his excellent representation. I recommend Attorney Thygerson to anyone in need of an competent and knowledgeable attorney. You will not regret this decision.

— Client 07/08/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2016-08-15

John Paul Thygerson surpassed every expectation I had for a criminal lawyer. We spoke about my case and with his exceptional experience was able to tell me exactly what would happen. He answered all of my questions and possible outcomes given my situation and the county the court district I was in. Mr Thygerson told me his all inclusive price up front. Never over the two years we spent in and out of court did he change or reconsider that original deal. During those two years he also helped me with other smaller issues without asking for more. His understanding of law surpasses many he knew exactly what to portray about myself to the court to have the best possible outcome. In the end I walked out of that courtroom with my case being dismissed. I could not of been more satisfied with his service, knowledge, support, and ability to succeed.

— Client 08/15/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2016-09-05

I was arrested for DWI and hired John immediately. He was recommended by a friend. I started doing my homework on him and everywhere I looked, he had 5 stars. Everyone was happy, so I figured I would hire him. Now I see why he was reviewed so highly. He is a Master of the Court! He made the process seamless and easy for me. He took the case by the horns and calmed me down. This was my first DWI arrest. I didn't know what to expect, so I was nervous. John was always there. He knew what to do. He explained every possible scenario and outcome and decided the route we would take. I'm glad I hired John Thygerson because there was no conviction and my case was tossed out, even though my BAC level was more than twice the limit. John was always available to me and always responded to my texts and emails. John is a great attorney!

— Client 09/05/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2016-10-07

John got my charges dismissed that too in 6 months in advance. I ran into this trouble situation due to my toddler picking something from store and I was taken as Hispanic upon my return by the security.. I kept asserting the truth but they tricked me and pressed charges. John believed in me and helped me sail smoothly through this. He had my court dates as per my availability. I will highly recommend John. He is the go to guy if you want your charges dismissed and that too before time.

— Client 10/07/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2016-11-23

I was charged with my first DUI and had no experience searching for and hiring attorneys, I contacted at least two dozen attorneys near the Fairfield County area before settling on John Thygerson. Lady DUI has the largest presence in the area, but they were the most expensive by a long shot (3k just for a paralegal!). Most attorneys in the area charge a flat fee of about 3-6k for first time DUI cases. During the search process I consulted with a number of attorneys and received mixed responses on the likelihood of getting into the AEP and winning the DMV hearing. Some attorneys (including one from Bayer & Black) even said the DMV hearings aren't worth the trouble in most cases because it's near impossible to win, while others even charged an extra fee to handle the DMV case. Eventually I found John Thygerson, he had an excellent background which included 9 years with DePanfilis & Vallerie. I gave him a call and set up a free consultation with him a few hours later that day. The consultation was very productive, and lasted about 45 minutes (it was really nice not feeling rushed, like I had with other attorneys). After speaking with John for about 15 minutes I had pretty much made up my mind; he told me that even though it has gotten more difficult to win the DMV hearings he always requests them for his clients just in case. I was still a little concerned about my chances of being admitted into the AEP, but John was so confident he actually guaranteed (in writing!) to refund his entire retainer if he was unable to get me into the program. A few months later I'm very happy to say that not only did John Thygerson get me placed in the AEP, he even won my DMV hearing in spite of the odds! I highly recommend John, and will definitely retain him in the future if I ever need a criminal defense attorney again.

— Client 11/23/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2017-02-10

My daughter was issued a summons amd Attorney Thygerson handled everything professionally and got the result that we deserved. My wife and I wouldn't hesitate to call on him again.

— Client 02/10/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2017-03-30

I came to John after briefly working with another law firm in CT and immediately noticed a difference. This was my first time dealing with the legal system and my original law firm gave me zero advice or comfort about my situation and paired me with an associate just out of law school for a whopping $5k. When I reached out to John on a Sunday in the holiday season, despite the fact that he had a family function that day, he made accommodations to meet with me and discuss my case and prospects. I immediately dropped my prior law firm and hired him. He is a one-man army and makes sure that he has time for all of his clients, regardless of the severity of your case. While my case was fairly minor (misdemeanor disorderly conduct with a court mandated protective order), it had potentially far reaching impacts on my professional and personal life. John took the time to speak with me many times to explain what I could expect and how I should proceed to get the charge downgraded. Even though we had an extremely difficult prosecutor and family services representative that refused to consider the extenuating circumstances of the case - my girlfriend and I got into an argument after a boozy holiday party and I broke a plate in my kitchen sink and punched the fridge, was pulled out of my bed while I was asleep, and ordered to 3 months of bi-weekly alcohol treatment and 6 months to 2 years of a family violence educational program, John was able to work his magic. Despite the odds and the bureaucratic nightmare that is Fairfield County's legal/justice system, John got my charges dismissed (not nollied or continued for years) and cleared my record in just 3 months (a process that the court wanted to turn into possibly 2+ years)! I cannot express how thankful I am to John for his services and I 110% recommend Attorney Thygerson to anyone who is having to deal with any legal issues in the greater New York City/Connecticut region.

— Client 03/30/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2017-04-24

As most people, when I first began planning for my case I consulted with many lawyers. John stood out immediately, I could tell he was really thinking about the case and creating a solution, listening carefully and inquiring for all the details and promptly setting up an appointment to discuss further. After meeting with him right away I already knew I wanted to hire him not only for his great track record of results and experience, knowledge of the legal system as well as a keen relational awareness of the persons in it, but also for the intangible things. John wanted to take care of this and saw it as a challenge, likewise I was so glad when I hired him as I knew we would be in good hands. We immediately got to work and I must emphasize the amount of legwork he did on my behalf was truly surprising, he didn't want to trouble me any more after we got going, he was truly the man on the mission and made it as easy and seemless a process as any of these matters can be. After a hell of a battle, I received a letter in the mail one day, and opened it to find an amazing surprise. John had appeared in court again on my behalf and gotten the charges dismissed! Imagine that. John is a doer- not a talker. John is a good guy as well and understands your situation. John is a total pro. 10/10 would go with him again without hesitation. I'm glad now to put this behind me and move on with my life thanks to attorney Thygerson.

— Client 04/24/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2017-05-10

I first met John Tygerson back in 2014 when I came to him for a second DUI offense case. He was very upfront with me from the beginning with details and options about the case. He didn't try to convince me with promises like other lawyers try to do. The case took almost 3 years to settle but he didn't give up until he got me the best possible deal from the court. My second DUI offense was dropped down to a first DUI misdemeanor. If I was to be convicted for a second DUI offense I would have been convicted of a felony. Definitely something you would not want on your record. I strongly recommend John Tygerson for which he will not settle and continue fighting for you until you get the best results. Always kept me up to date and stuck by my side through it all. Five stars all the way!! Thank you John!

— Client 05/10/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2017-05-13

John is an incredible attorney and obviously knows the ins and outs of the legal world. Not only is he an accomplished lawyer, he also makes you, as a person, feel like a human, regardless of the situation you may be going through. For me, personally, it was a awful time and made me feel no less of a person and was truly incredible through the whole process! I HIGHLY recommend him!

— Client 05/13/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2017-06-01

Attorney Thygerson represented me on 3 separate occasions. Each time he was there for me and gave me good advice. I recommend him for anyone who needs a lawyer who is honest and cares about those of us who need him.

— Client 06/01/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2017-08-01

John Thygerson is certainly the person you want on your team! I received two criminal charges and needed the best. I researched and spoke to many firms but never felt confident until I spoke with John. John is a results oriented professional whose experience, knowledge, and network are truly next to none. My family and I are extremely grateful for his ability to both explain and navigate this complex legal matter. I highly recommend John Thygerson!

— Client 08/01/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2017-08-03

I was looking at various attorneys for my case and was referred to Mr Thygerson by a friend who had used his services. After our first meeting, I knew he was the one for me. He is a direct, no nonsense tactician and extremely effective at maneuvering the criminal justice system. In my case he was able to develop a game plan to dismiss ALL charges, including a felony, without the use of a diversionary program. I hope I don't ever need a criminal attorney again, but if I do he will be my first call. Thank you John for your work and for the best results I could have possibly gotten.

— Client 08/03/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2017-09-19

Speaking from experience, John Thygerson is genuinely the best criminal defense attorney you could ever hope to have on your side. He truly has a brilliant legal mind and is a force to be reckoned with in the court room. His reassuring and knowledgeable demeanor helped me successfully get through my DUI case. Years later, when I contacted him again, he answered on the second ring and was there once again to help me in family court. I have since recommended him to friends and will continue to do so. If you or your loved one is ever in a situation that deems the use of an attorney, you would be lucky to have John fighting for you. He is truly one of a kind and the best you could ever hope for.

— Client 09/19/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2017-10-03

After getting arrested for a DWI attorney Thygerson helped me every step of the way to put this problem behind me. I had an extremely high BAC level, and a very bleak outlook for what was going to be my outcome. He was straight forward, telling what was going to happen at every court appearance and how this would play out in the future. He was calm, composed and extremely confident when I was only thinking of the worst. He was punctual to all meetings, reminded me when paperwork was due for court and kept me out of jail and my record clean. I was just hired for a new job after moving with no problems in background checks, and I could not be more thrilled with the entire experience. I would recommend him to anyone in need of his service.

— Client 10/03/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2017-10-13

So many good things to be said about John but what I appreciate most about him is he is a straight shooter. I sat down with him at his office a few days after my arrest and he explained to me very clearly the different approaches we could take to my case. We decided our approach and I was out and back to work within an hour and the insane anxiety from the past few days of that "what do I do now" feeling were gone. Anybody reading this probably knows that same feeling. After that we just went thru the process. Court dates, paperwork, etc but I never felt stressed about it again cause John had my back. I can't remember having to reach out to him; he always reached out to me reminding me of court dates and making sure I had everything in order for those court dates. Awesome guy great attorney

— Client 10/13/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2017-11-21

John Thygerson is methodical in his approach to handling extremely delicate situations. I was charged with two felonies, a misdeamenor and was frightened beyond belief. I was fortunate enough to have hired John. From our first meeting to the day that the charges were dismissed, John had a way of making me feel that everything was going to be ok. It was a combination of his knowledge of the judicial system, professionalism and above all his compassion. I am forever grateful to this man. My life could have taken a totally different course if I had not hired John Thygerson. I HIGHLY recommend John as an attorney. Thank you John!!!!

— Client 11/21/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2017-11-28

Upon being charged with a multitude of serious criminal charges, I was convinced my freedom as a citizen would be stripped from me indefinitely. Due to the severity of the charges, I was expecting a lengthy probation period paired with crippling fines--perhaps even jail time. Thanks to John Thygerson's meticulousness and extensive knowledge of law, my assumptions were rendered false. Not only has he managed to dismiss every single one of my charges in a short period of time by entering me into a first offender program, but he also made sure I walked away with no record. John worked with me every step of the way, even when I was facing personal issues that could've potentially impeded on the successful outcome of my case. I am forever thankful John!

— Client 11/28/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2017-12-02

Simply stated, this man has mastered his craft! He is professional, expedites matters effectively and efficiently and his fees are reasonable! This is an attorney you want by your side. Go with Thygerson and you are guaranteed success!

— Client 12/02/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2018-01-12

I hired John Thygerson after being charged with disorderly conduct and interfering with police. Being from out of state and only here for work I knew probation or community service was going to be a huge pain in the a** for me. After my consultation with Mr. Thygerson I knew I was in good hands. He got my charges dropped to creating a public disturbance which is not even a misdemeanor! Paid a 50 dollar fine and was on my way! I highly recommend John Thygerson.

— Client 01/12/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-01-19

Attorney John Thygerson, Back in November 2016 my son Derek was arrested and charged with 2nd degree identity theft and 2nd degree forgery for forged perscriptions of a controlled substance. As Derek's mother I was ashamed, disappointed, and depressed because of all the accused allegations against my son. I didn't know where to begin the fight for Derek's future. A few days later I had a doctor's appointment and there is where I found my answer. Stamford Magazine featured an ad of 200 outstanding lawyers of Fairfield County. Each of them has achieved the highest ratings from at least 2 organizations with highly regarded selection criteria that serves the legal profession. Under Criminal Defense Attorneys I found Attorney John Thygerson. Attorney Thygerson was upfront, honest, and prepares your case for the best strategy for your defense. Attorney Thygerson also does his research and finds information on how he will prepare for your innocents in your case including any legal justifying action. Attorney Thygerson helps you understand your charges and honest consequences if convicted. Attorney thygerson is truly a great and trusted criminal defense attorney. He was a savior for my family and he could be a savior for your family. I would highly recommend Attorney John Thygerson to anyone. Sincerely, Deborah & Derek New Canaan, CT

— Client 01/19/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-03-03

From the start John was very knowledgeable and his ability to navigate the judicial system is next to none. Each meeting I was current on what was needed and he helped to managed expectations. Through it all, John was able to go above and beyond to see that my charges were dropped by challenging statements and bringing my side of the story to light. In the end, my weapon charges were dropped. Highly recommend John for criminal law

— Client 03/03/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-05-15

John Thygerson is the best attorney that anyone could have on their side, bar none. He went way beyond the call of duty in his representation of my case. John’s professionalism exceeded my limits and the gratitude I have for John’s services are truly immeasurable. I was facing extensive jail time after I had violated my probation as I had personal problems that had evolved into a catastrophic problem, jail time. I am in my mid 40’s, have 2 children that are twelve and eleven years of age. I was unquestionably in a situation where I would not see them for a lengthy period of time and they would essentially fall through the cracks in every facet of their lives. John listened to me every step of the way, and took time out of his personal life (even on weekends), to work on my case. When I say he cared about my case, it is truthfully an understatement. After lengthy negotiations and multiple court appearances, John was able to convince the prosecutor to back off their insistence that I go to jail. The final judgement was that I paid a fine, which literally saved my life. John Thygerson is the most kind, compassionate, and understanding attorney that will work tirelessly on getting a favorable outcome. I always had a sense of comfort when I was in John’s presence throughout the case, as he reduced the severe anxiety and fear of having to be incarcerated. I would recommend calling John Thygerson immediately without hesitation if you are facing a situation in the court system. John is not only a Tier 1 attorney, he is in a league of his own. Thank you so much for your representation. Anthony B.

— Client 05/15/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-05-31

John is one of the most genuine attorney’s that you want by your side when you land in a pickle. Behind his thoughtful and quiet demeanor he really cares about his client to ensure the best possible outcome. He is very strategic in his approach and is always working hard behind the scenes to carefully and tactically engineer a plan through the criminal justice system. What I loved about John is that he takes his time to investigate all possible scenarios and does not rush you through the outcome. This allows him to build his case appropriately, build relationships with the state attorney and enables him to present his client in the best manner. He works tirelessly and in my case took many more trips to the courthouse than previously anticipated - yet he never asked for additional fees for his time. His singular focus on the outcome and a ‘no matter what is takes’ attitude is highly commendable. Now that the case is over, I still feel like I can reach out to him for any advice. I highly recommend John!

— Client 05/31/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-06-02

After starting out with a public defender who wanted me to use a court program and attend weeks of classes, I decided to find a lawyer and hired John. Not only did he get my original charges dropped, but also a subsequent failure to appear. No court program, no classes. Mr. Thygerson was always prompt in responding to any questions I had and was a true professional from start to finish. If you want a top notch straightforward lawyer, go with this man.

— Client 06/02/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-06-08

John was incredibly knowledgeable and confident, and answered all of my questions and concerns about my case quickly and professionally. With John’s guidance, skills, and excellent representation, my DWI charges have been dismissed and I am incredibly grateful to have worked with him. I would absolutely recommend him to anyone seeking an attorney.

— Client 06/08/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-06-15

I have hired John for THREE entirely separate cases dating from the summer of 2015 to just two months ago. The three cases ranged from a DUI, to a fight with my step-father, to an incident where my girlfriend and I were detained at Mohegan Sun. Every single outcome (for all three cases) was not only in my favor, but was the desired outcome that him and I spoke about at each initial consultation. He takes these things very seriously and knows exactly how to execute. Also, John’s lasting professional relationships with judges and court officials in the greater Danbury area and beyond (Norwich and Norwalk to name a few more specifically) immediately open doors for you in your case. He demonstrates the utmost professionalism, tells it like it is, and all the while with a great sense of humor. I hope I never need a lawyer again, but if and when... I know exactly who to call. And I highly recommend to others who find themselves in a similar position, that that call be placed to John P. Thygerson.

— Client 06/15/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-06-17

John was not only a tremendous lawyer, but an even better person while handling my case. His advice was always well thought out and tailored to my case. He was upfront with news regarding the case and always provided the news in a positive and supportive manner. The case was atypical, but John's experience in these matters was valuable and thanks to his ideas and strategy the charges were properly dismissed. To those in need of a lawyer, I highly recommend John.

— Client 06/17/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-06-19

I came to John with a felony charge arising from a lapse in my own personal judgement. A judge had signed a 30,000 bond on my warrant and John was able to convince that very same judge of reducing my bond to zero. Because of him I did not spend one night in jail, he was able to get me down to community service and counseling for a probationary period. But not only was he able to get me out of the rut I was in, he was able to clearly communicate it all to me, walk me through it and constantly kept me in the loop. He would check in on me to make sure I was keeping up with the required court mandates going above and beyond what I ever thought a lawyer would do. I could not have asked for better representation, he truely made the best of a horrible situation. I would recommend him to any and everyone.

— Client 06/19/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-07-02

John is not only proffesional but is very honest and understanding. He makes the process so much easier and less stressful. I trust John with anything and everything because he goes above and beyond for his clients. I strongly recomend using John as your attorney if you need one, you will not be disappointed!

— Client 07/02/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-07-08

John was fantastic and helped me a lot. He not only supported to drop my charges but also helped me to get my weblink to be removed from external search engines. He was so professional and have an extensive experience of what he is doing. I would highly recommend John. Any concern I raised was immediately addressed.Phone calls were answered in a timely manner. Information I requested about the process was promptly forwarded. And there was never a complaint from his staff. Thank for all your efforts John! Really appreciate your help.

— Client 07/08/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-08-16

John Thygerson, is without a doubt the best criminal attorney that I could have gotten!!!!!! He made me feel secure and safe 100% of the time. He was able to get my charges dropped very quickly . I highly recommend John Thygerson if you need to have the best attorney that you could have. I am forever grateful for an unbelievable and very professional job! John Thygerson is not only kind, professional and extremely confident as an attorney but, he is absolutely the best attorney I have ever met! I am forever grateful to him from the bottom of my heart .

— Client 08/16/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-08-16

If you're looking for an attorney – stop now. This guy reminds me of a super-hero that shows-up and turns things around…incredible. He handled my girlfriend's case and the charge was dropped! Prior to hiring him we interviewed perhaps six attorneys, and, each one of them, to one degree or another, wanted to go-along-to-get-along (minimize defeat). As though herding cattle, nonchalantly, through the system while collecting money for doing nothing but scratching each-other’s backs. This, despite the case seeming like an over-reach, to put it mildly. But, thank God Thygerson was referred to us by a family member, because everything turned-on-a-dime after we talked to him. And, after the initial phone conversation, guess what? Thygerson showed-up at my girlfriend's house - like Batman - the very-next day to see exactly what happened at the house. We were amazed by his passion for our-position – truly a Godsend! We were also stunned how this guy makes your problem, his problem, like an angel who rolls-up in a black Benz! And, my girlfriend's dog loved him, too! He took notes, asked questions, and walked around to get a feel for exactly what happened the night-of. He was confident that things would go well after this meeting – this, because he actually-worked for us, rather than lounging in an office like the rest. We experienced a giant, and greatly needed, sense of relief – thank you, Thygerson! Thygerson is operating in a different realm - he is there to fight for you, like a badger, rather than simply being part of the “club”. Again, the charge was d-r-o-p-p-e-d, it vanished. And, you’d be surprised how affordable he is, with a base-line fee – not nickel-and-diming you with hourly. I whole heartedly recommend doing whatever you need to do to hire him. We could not have dreamed-up such a good person to help us. I've never met, let alone even heard-of an attorney like Thygerson. So, do not think twice, as the system doesn't care about you…but Thygerson does! He is a stud that is to be brought out of the stable to stomp your legal problems with renowned tenacity, while at the same time, he is as gentle as a foal with his clients. He is what every attorney should be. Thank you, again, Mr. Thygerson, we are forever grateful for your help, Sir.

— Client 08/16/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-09-06

I was arrested for a DUI last year. I had never been arrested before in my life, and couldn't imagine what was going to unfold. After reading a lot of good reviews about John I reached out to John's office. After a brief meeting I knew that he was the lawyer for me. John gave me all the facts and let me know exactly what the next year of my life would be like. With John's guidance and knowledge of the law, I am happy to say that a year later I am sitting here with a case that has just been dismissed. I would, without hesitation, recommend John Thygerson as an attorney. You won't regret it.

— Client 09/06/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2019-02-25

Attorney Thygerson provided exceptional legal representation for me at a criminal defense trial for a motor vehicle infraction which got nationwide news attention. I was pulled over for a cell phone / distracted driver infraction in Westport when I was actually eating a McDonald's hash brown around 6AM in the morning in April 2018. I interviewed a number of attorneys, and no other attorneys showed the level of investment in the case as Attorney Thygerson. He is also very familiar with Norwalk GA20 as you can literally walk from his office to the back door of the courthouse. I got the impression from many lawyers that they were just going to "mail it in" and do a mediocre job to understand the case and present the facts in the most favorable light for the defense. When Attorney Thygerson met with me, he immediately took the time to understand Bluetooth technology in my car and quickly strategized a central component of the defense strategy. He isn't a lawyer who is just going to sit in the office to get a sense of what happened. During the trial, Attorney Thygerson was quick thinking and articulate and could sense where the prosecution was going before they even finished sentences so he could object when he needed to quickly. He brought up relevant case law as well. Because of the wealth of information to support reasonable doubt in the case, Attorney Thygerson believed in boiling down the details to the most relevant items to "keep is simple". He's a great lawyer and a very likeable person to work with. We're now waiting for a successful decision for the case -- fingers crossed! I would highly recommend Attorney Thygerson to anyone needing an exception criminal defense attorney.

— Client 02/25/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-03-11

Attorney Thygerson helped and guided me every step of the way. He made me feel confident and optimistic that we will reach the end of my case. I’m very satisfied with his professionalism and his excellent service.

— Client 03/11/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-03-28

Attorney Thygerson is truly amazing! Since the day, I called, and spoke to him, in regards to my extremely complex criminal case, I knew I was in good hands. Attorney Thygerson, even went the extra mile literally, driving over an hour to my home, so we could sit down, and discuss my case, before he was even paid, and hired. That told me everything about this mans character, and genuine concern, and care for his clients. If you are reading this, and are looking for a gentle sole, yet a shark in the courtroom. Attorney Thygerson is the man for the job! Thanks to Attorney Thygerson, all charges were dropped, and in return I am able to have a second chance at life. There are not enough words to express my graditude for this Attorney!!

— Client 03/28/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-03-31

John Thygerson was recommended to me by another local well respected lawyer. The charges were traffic violation related . John clearly explained the options and after deciding to pursue a court appearance, the charges were eventually dropped. John was professional, friendly and communicative the whole time. His knowledge and experience with the local court was a real bonus. I strongly recommend hiring John Thygerson.

— Client 03/31/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-04-15

I hired John to help me fight a DWI charge. He was extremely knowledgeable and helped guide me through the process, always showing up to court dates on time and quickly answering any questions I had throughout the process. He vigorously defended me over a span of several court dates and ended up having the prosecutor decide to no longer pursue the charges, which was the best case scenario in my case! I would highly recommend John to anyone needing to hire a defense attorney!

— Client 04/15/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-04-23

After being arrested and charged with several felony counts I was in desperate need of an excellent criminal attorney. John Thygerson was highly recommended to me from another attorney who had helped me with a previous matter. During our initial meeting I explained my current situation to John and the events leading up to the arrest. From that point on, John took the bull by the horns and began preparing a defense for me. He always kept me informed and guided through the Court system. After several appearances before the judge, I was looking at not having a felony record. I then made an extremely poor choice which jeopardized all of the hard work and headway John had made on my behalf. I was not only at square one, but in a worse position than I was in when I had first come to John. The Judge incarcerated me through my next two Court dates. Through it all John stood behind me fighting his best fight for me. To say I wasn't his easiest client is an understatement. In the end, it was nothing short of a miracle, I have no felony record. All I can say is this man has the patience of a saint and a huge heart for all of his clients. John Thygerson not only is highly knowledgable and professional, but compassionate as well. If you are in need of a criminal attorney, he should be your first and only choice. Thank you so much Attorney Thygerson!! C.G.

— Client 04/23/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-04-23

I reached out to a good friend about a legal issue I was facing. She told me about her past legal issue and how John has represented her and from start to finish he was there for her not only as her attorney but also like her therapist. She would annoy him all times of the day with million questions and he was always there to answer her questions with patience. She told me to give him a call and that it would give me a peace of mind and it would make me feel better. So I contacted John the next day and although he wasn’t at his office that week, he was willing to make an exception and met me at his office for a free consultation. I left his office letting him know id sleep on it and let him know whether I’d hire him to represent me. So the next day I decided to have him represent me. Because I wasn’t able to drive, he drove to me with the retainer form early in the morning before I had to leave for work. Since that point on, he took care of everything for me and I only had to show up to court for maximum of 10 minutes and after 3 court dates, he had all my charges dropped, which was a miracle since I had 4 charges on my summons! He is my hero.

— Client 04/23/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-06-05

John was extremely supportive from the first day I called him to review my case and gave me the confidence that he understood the law and was the best attorney to represent me during my case. He kept me updated through a very stressful time and was always available when I had questions. You would be crazy not to hire John to represent you.

— Client 06/05/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-06-19

Attorney John Paul Thygerson was the best representation for a case that I had no way of winning, had I not hired him. He was honest, very professional, thorough, personable and showed compassion for my case. He made several appearances in court on my behalf, so I didn’t have to take precious time off work, allowing me to move on with my life without worry and anxiety over the case, because he had everything under control. I had 2 major requests concerning the false charges against me; that I not spend precious hours I did not have, in Behavioral Counseling, and that the charges be completely dropped/dismissed, so that I do not have a record because of it. Attorney Thygerson FULLY met ALL my requests without compromise. He worked very hard on my behalf and would not concede until BOTH requests had been fulfilled. His services are truly priceless. I thank God for him, and I HIGHLY recommend Attorney Thygerson if you want to win your case. May God bless and prosper you. In Jesus’ name.

— Client 06/19/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-08-18

Mr. Thygerson was profession in our case and clear in his explanation on how he will tackle the case. Made sure we were updated on the case. Thank you Mr. Thygerson!

— Client 08/18/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-09-02

When I came to Attorney Thygerson back in 2017/2018, my life was a mess. I found myself in a very dark cave, cornered in by the system. There's always two sides to a story; my side, their side, and the truth. Only problem was no one was hearing me. I needed a voice that would speak for me, a voice that knew how to speak their language. He listened attentively to my needs and took immediate action to represent me well. Our first court date produced results I never could have achieved on my own. It was an upward climb since. Two years of going back and forth but he guided me every step of the way; never once alleviating me from doing my part. I was accountable. Eventually, the day came when the results came in and it was all in my favor. The process with him taught me a lot. I grew from the experience and my life is the better for it. He's a pro! He's tough as Teflon, and carries a weight of respect and dignity. Having confidence in a lawyer to do right by you allows you to sleep better at night. I highly recommend him and respect him to the utmost. Thank you John for being that beacon that guided me out darkness and into the light.

— Client 09/02/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-11-01

John Thygerson was a beacon of hope for my family and I at a time when it seemed my options appeared very limited. After countless charges were brought upon me, John literally turned 'poop into sugar' and got a end result of probation instead of the mandatory jail time I was supposed to get. He provided excellent services and had extreme patience with me. His excellent knowledge of the law was on full display for me to view after the four years I've dealt with him. My family and I are eternally grateful for his true professionalism he has demonstrated throughout the years. I was represented better than I could ever have imagined. I would highly recommend him to anyone dealing with any type of law issues.

— Client 11/01/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-11-21

We hired John to help with our case and he was thorough, professional, and always there for us. He worked hard to make sure we knew what was going on and worked hard to get all charges dropped.

— Client 11/21/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2020-01-22

John went above and beyond actually serving as an officer of the court and PERSONALLY performing a residential walk-through which resulted in favorable modification of a court order. I was facing multiple felony counts and John was able to get everything nullified. He was friendly, efficient and all-business, and was even accessible via test messaging! This is the second time I retained John and highly recommend him to anyone. Worth every penny.

— Client 01/22/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-01-28

Coming from a family of attorneys I have had my share of legal witnessing. After hiring attorney Thygerson I realize that there are levels of abilities, skill, knowledge and results. Attorney Thygerson has all these attributes and more. His constant professionalism and ability to resolve legal issues is What puts him ahead in the legal community. I would recommend attorney John Thygerson to any potential client and assure them that they made the right choice in hiring an attorney with his credentials and ability. Sincerely Christopher

— Client 01/28/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-02-26

This is the best lawyer in CT he has helped me with a very difficult case .... he has walked me through every step of my case and worked very hard to get the best outcome for me .... he truly cares about his clients and does everything in his power to help I would recommend this lawyer to everyone

— Client 02/26/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-09-14

If you have a legal issue in Fairfield County John is the man to call. He got all charges dismissed because he knows the law, the system and the people. John will do everything in his power to get you the best possible result.

— Client 09/14/2020