Norwalk CT Assault Lawyers Provide Aggressive Representation
Norwalk criminal defense attorneys protect the rights of accused individuals
With approximately 90,000 residents, Norwalk offers many opportunities for people to get together, but occasionally, disputes break out that sometimes get physical. If you are charged with assault in Norwalk, or anywhere in Fairfield County, the Law Offices of John P. Thygerson, LLC can provide the aggressive representation you need to protect your rights and challenge the allegations brought against you by the authorities.
What is assault under state law?
In many states “assault and battery” are two distinct charges, with assault representing the threat of harm and battery defined as unwanted physical contact. However, Connecticut has a separate crime of threatening. Here, assault refers to harmful, unwanted contact intentionally, recklessly or negligently perpetrated by the defendant. Thus, assault is a violent crime. Crimes categorized as sexual assault involve threats and harm of a sexual nature for the offender’s gratification.
Is assault considered a felony in Connecticut?
An assault can be a misdemeanor or a felony. Factors that affect a charging decision include the mental state of the perpetrator, the degree of harm intended, the harm that actually occurred, whether weapons were involved and, in some case, who the victim was.
Types of assault in Connecticut
Connecticut law divides assault crimes into several categories, as follows:
- First-degree assault — The Class B felony is charged when someone causes serious injury using a deadly weapon; intends to seriously/permanently disfigure, destroy, or amputate someone’s body; recklessly engages in behavior that could cause someone’s death but results in serious physical injury; intends to cause serious physical injury with two or more people involved or causes physical injury with a firearm.
- Second-degree assault — This Class D felony occurs when an assault causes serious injury to someone; when the alleged perpetrator intends to cause serious injury with a weapon other than a gun; recklessly causes serious injury with a deadly weapon; or drugs someone without consent.
- Assault in the second degree with a motor vehicle — A person operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs, who causes serious physical injury to another person can be charged with this Class D felony.
- Third-degree assault — This Class A misdemeanor happens when a person intentionally causes physical injury to someone else; recklessly causes serious physical injury to someone; or negligently causes physical injury with a deadly weapon.
Assault charges and sentences can be enhanced if the victim belongs to a protected group, such as disabled persons, pregnant women and law enforcement officers.
Penalties for assault in Connecticut
Assault is a serious crime with severe penalties, depending on the level of the offense:
- Class B felony — These offenses carry a mandatory minimum five-year prison sentence, but a sentence could be as long as 20 years with a fine as high as $15,000.
- Class D felony — Sentences run from one to five years with fines up to $5,000. If a firearm was involved, there is a mandatory minimum of one year in prison. If the charge is assault with a motor vehicle, the court also suspends the offender’s driver’s license for one year and orders the installation of an ignition interlock device for two years after driving privileges are restored.
- Class A misdemeanor — Incarceration for these crimes can last as long as one year, and fines can run as high as $2,000.
Given the serious jeopardy posed by these charges, it is essential to retain a capable attorney, who can make a strong argument relating to self-defense, alibi or mistake by the reporting officer.
Contact our Norwalk law firm for robust defense to assault charges
The Law Offices of John P. Thygerson, LLC provides determined defense for clients accused of assault in Norwalk and around Fairfield County. For a free consultation, call 203-286-5690 or contact us online.