Norwalk CT Sexual Assault Defense Attorneys Protect Clients’ Rights
Norwalk criminal lawyers work to defend your reputation and your freedom
Like other locations in Fairfield County, Norwalk is pleasant place to live within commuting distance of New York City and Bridgeport. However, no place is immune from crime and one allegation can disrupt your life even if it is never proven. This is particularly true if the accusation involves a sexual offense. If you are accused of sexual assault, your reputation and your freedom are at stake. The Law Offices of John P. Thygerson, LLC provides aggressive and determined defense representation to Connecticut residents facing sexual assault allegations. We understand how high the stakes are for you, and work tirelessly to secure a favorable outcome.
What is sexual assault under Connecticut law?
Sexual assault consists of sexual contact that that the victim does not consent to, or cannot, due to age or incapacity. Sexual assault is generally a violent crime, but can occur without the use of physical force, as with statutory rape.
Types of sexual assault charges in Connecticut
Specific sex crime counts that someone can be charged with in Connecticut include:
- Sexual assault in the first degree — This is defined as sexual intercourse by force or threat of force, as well as any intercourse with a child under the age of 13 or a mentally incapacitated person. An aggravated first-degree count can be brought if a firearm or death threat is sued, if the victim suffers great physical injury or if the defendant is acting in concert with others.
- Sexual assault in spousal or cohabiting relationship — Someone who coerces their spouse or live-in partner to have sex through force or threat can be convicted of a crime.
- Aggravated sexual assault of a minor — A person who engages in intercourse with a minor with an enhancement, such as kidnapping, stalking, violence or disfigurement, can accused of this extremely serious charge.
- Sexual assault in the second degree — This charge is brought in cases where a victim cannot legally consent to sexual intercourse, such as when they are intoxicated or under the power and authority of the alleged offender. It also applies in matters where the defendant had intercourse with someone aged 13-15.
- Sexual assault in the third degree — Many of these cases involve involuntary non-intercourse sexual contact.
- Sexual assault in the fourth degree — This is a misdemeanor that addresses lesser types of unwanted sexual contact accomplished without force.
Unlike other types of criminal offenses, many sex crime prosecutions hinge on questions of consent. Accordingly, it is important to retain an attorney who can get to the truth when stories conflict.
Connecticut sexual assault statute of limitations
There is no statute of limitations for crimes involving sexual assault or the abuse of a minor. Some other felonies of a sexual nature can be charged for 20 years after the incident. Even a misdemeanor fourth-degree sexual assault charge can be brought for up to 10 years following the alleged crime. Depending on certain factors, sex crime cases involving DNA evidence might not be barred by the statute of limitations.
Penalties for sexual assault in Connecticut
Penalties for sex crimes are harsh. First and second-degree sexual assault are class B felonies punishable by at least 10 years of imprisonment. Lesser felony offenses garner anywhere from one to 10 years in prison. Sentences for sexual assaults on a minor are especially severe. For example, aggravated sexual assault of a minor is a class A felony punishable by up to 50 years in prison. Misdemeanor sentences are lighter, but the convicted party must still register as a sex offender.
Contact our Norwalk law firm for aggressive defense to sexual assault charges
The Law Offices of John P. Thygerson, LLC in Norwalk represents Connecticut clients accused of sex-related crimes. For a free consultation, call 203-286-5690 or contact us online.